Vermont Press Releases

Vermont Sierra Club Announces Legislative Endorsements: Supports Candidates with History of a Strong Conservation Ethic

News Release — Vermont Chapter of the Sierra Club
Oct. 6, 2016

David Ellenbogen, Vermont Chapter of the Sierra Club Political Committee Chair

Robb Kidd, 802-505-1540 Sierra Club Vermont Conservation Program Manager.

Montpelier, VT: The Vermont Sierra Club is pleased to announce its endorsements for the 2016 general election. These endorsements accompany their earlier, primary endorsements of David Zuckerman for Lt. Governor, Beth Pearce for State Treasurer, and Chris Pearson for State Senator. The Chapter’s endorsement for Governor will be announced in the coming weeks.

“The Vermont Chapter is excited to support a select group of candidates who have either a solid history of protecting and working to improve our environment or have committed to step up on the issues that most deeply impact our environment.” stated David Ellenbogen, Vermont Chapter Political Committee Chair. “We encourage our members and supporters to help elect these candidates”.

The Vermont Sierra Club’s endorsements are based on surveys, voting records (for incumbents), shared knowledge that the Political Committee members bring to the process, and in some cases personal interviews with candidates. If a candidate is not endorsed, it does not mean that she or he is necessarily weak on environmental issues. Rather it indicates that no candidate met the criteria outlined above and used committee to issue endorsements.

Vermont Chapter of the Sierra Club 2016 Legislative Endorsements

Senate Endorsements:

Claire Ayer
Chris Bray

Virginia Lyons
Christopher Pearson
Michael Sirotkin

Sara Branon Kittell
Denise Smith

George Gay

Mark MacDonald

Anthony Pollina
Ann Cummings

Jeanette White

Dick McCormack

House Endorsements:

Addison 3
Diane Lanpher
Fritz Langrock

Addison 4
Mari Cordes
Dave Sharpe

Bennington 4
Steve Berry

Caledonia 3
Scott Campbell
Philip Aldridge

Chittenden 1-1
Steve May

Chittenden 2
Jim McCullough

Chittenden 3
Trevor Squirrell

Mike Yantachka

Chittenden 4-2
Bill Lippert

Chittenden 6-1
Joanna Cole

Chittenden 6-2
Jean O’ Sullivan

Chittenden 6-3
Curt McCormack

Chittenden 6-4
Brian Cina
Selene Colburn

Chittenden 6-5
Mary Sullivan

Chittenden 6-6
Barbara Rachelson

Chittenden 6-7
Diana Gonzalez
Robert Millar

Chittenden 7-2
Ann Pugh

Chittenden 7-3
Helen Head

Chittenden 7-4
Maida F. Townsend

Chittenden 8-3
John C. Churchman

Franklin 1
Caroline Bright

Franklin 3
Kathleen Keenan
Mike McCarthy
Franklin 4
Andrew Judge

Franklin 5
Joshua C. Aldrich

Franklin 7
Cindy Weed
Lamoille 2
Matt Hill

Lamoille Washington
Avram Pratt
Marci Young

Orange 1-2
Susan Hatch Davis
Adam Deslauriers

Orange Washington Addison
Jay Hooper

Orleans Lamoille
Katherine Sims

Rutland Bennington
Robin Chesnut-Tangerman

Washington 1
Gordon Bock
Jeremey Hansen

Washington 2
Dottye Ricks

Washington 3
Tommy Walz

Washington 4
Mary Hooper
Ben Eastwood

Washington 5
Kimberly Jessup

Washington 6
Janet Ancel

Washington 7
Maxine Grad

Washington Chittenden
Tom Stevens

Windham 2-2
Mollie S. Burke

Windham 4
David L. Deen
Mike Mrowicki

Windsor 1
John Bartholomew

Windsor 2
Annmarie Christensen

Windsor 3-2
Alice M. Emmons
Robert Forguites

Windsor 4-1
Susan M. Buckholz

Windsor Orange 1
Sarah Buxton

Windsor Rutland
Sandy Haas

If you read us, please support us.

Comment Policy requires that all commenters identify themselves by their authentic first and last names. Initials, pseudonyms or screen names are not permissible.

No personal harrassment, abuse, or hate speech is permitted. Comments should be 1000 characters or fewer.

We moderate every comment. Please go to our FAQ for the full policy.

Press Release

Recent Stories

Thanks for reporting an error with the story, "Vermont Sierra Club Announces Legislative Endorsements: Supports Can..."