Vermont Press Releases

NEBHE to honor former Vermont State Colleges Chancellor Donovan, UVM Trustee Young

News Release -- New England Board of Higher Education
Feb. 27, 2015

John O. Harney, 617-533-9501 or [email protected]

Other awardees include New England Council Chief James Brett
Honorees to be recognized at March 2015 Dinner in Boston

Boston--The New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE) will honor former Vermont State Colleges Chancellor Tim Donovan with its 2015 Eleanor M. McMahon Award for Lifetime Achievement, when the regional organization holds its 13th annual New England Higher Education Excellence Awards ceremony at the Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel on Friday, March 13, 2015.

Donovan recently retired from a career in higher education that spanned four decades culminating in five years as the chancellor of the Vermont State Colleges (VSC).

Among other 2015 NEBHE honorees, University of Vermont Trustee Mark Young will receive NEBHE's Vermont State Merit Award.

More than 400 people will attend this event, including leaders of education, business and government from across the six New England states.

"VSC's mantra under Tim has been 'go places, start here'-important words for Vermont and New England," said NEBHE President and CEO Michael K. Thomas. "Mark Young embodies the critical link between higher education institutions and our local businesses and economies."

Tim Donovan, Chancellor of the Vermont State Colleges

A Montpelier resident, Donovan will receive NEBHE's 2015 Eleanor M. McMahon Award for Lifetime Achievement.

His entire career has been in service to Vermont's five public comprehensive, technical and community colleges, including helping lead them through the Great Recession and stubborn demographic trends that brought smaller numbers of Vermont high school graduates.

Initially, Donovan directed the VSC's prior-learning assessment program before joining the Community College of Vermont, where he eventually served eight years as president. Under his leadership, the community college's enrollment increased 60% to become Vermont's second largest higher education institution and its reputation was enhanced as a leader of higher education innovation in use of technology, innovative program delivery and creative partnerships.

Donovan has been an active contributor in a wide variety of Vermont and New England regional organizations promoting increased access to transformational education and "blurring the lines" between education levels and institutions to benefit learners. These have included serving on the New England Board of Higher Education; the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of NEASC; and New England Secondary Schools Consortium. He is the founding chair of Vermont's PreK-16 Council and a member of the Board of Directors of the Vermont Business Roundtable.

Mark S. Young, Trustee, University of Vermont

Young was appointed to the University of Vermont Board by Trustees by Gov. James Douglas in 2009 for a term expiring in March 2015. He also served on the UVM Board from 2002 to 2007,
The president and CEO of the First National Bank of Orwell, Vt., and a former member of the Vermont House of Representatives, Young also serves as the Town of Orwell treasurer and trustee of public funds.

Born in Middlebury, Vt., Young has served on the boards of Union Mutual of Vermont Companies; Vermont Center for the Book; and the Vermont Economic Progress Council. He chaired the Fair Haven Union High School Board as well as the Executive Committee of the Vermont Bankers Association. He also served as treasurer of Addison-Rutland Supervisory Union.

NEBHE's Awards

Each year, NEBHE presents Regional Excellence Awards to individuals and organizations that have shown exceptional leadership on behalf of higher education and the advancement of educational opportunity, and State Merit Awards to honor the innovative work of organizations, institutions or individuals in each New England state.

NEBHE's 2015 regional award recipients include:

James T. Brett, President and CEO, The New England Council
The Governor Walter R. Peterson Award for Leadership

Tim Donovan, Chancellor, Vermont State Colleges
The Eleanor M. McMahon Award for Lifetime Achievement

Rhode Island KIDS COUNT
The Robert J. McKenna Award for Program Achievement

Patricia Collins, Trustee, University of Maine System
Samuel S. Bergami Jr., Board of Governors, University of New Haven
The David C. Knapp Award for Trusteeship

Business Contribution to Higher Education Award

NEBHE's 2015 state merit award recipients include:

Booker T. DeVaughn, President Emeritus, Three Rivers Community College
Connecticut State Merit Award

University of New England
Maine State Merit Award

Carole A. Cowan, President, Middlesex Community College
Massachusetts State Merit Award

Fr. Jonathan DeFelice, Former President, Saint Anselm College
New Hampshire State Merit Award

Susan F. Lusi, Superintendent, Providence Public Schools
Rhode Island State Merit Award

Mark Young, Trustee, University of Vermont
Vermont State Merit Award

Additional information about NEBHE's New England Higher Education Excellence Awards is available online at


Did you know VTDigger is a nonprofit?

Our journalism is made possible by member donations. If you value what we do, please contribute and help keep this vital resource accessible to all.

Press Release

About Press Releases posts press releases as a way of providing readers with information directly from businesses, state agencies, political organizations and nonprofits. We do not edit or rewrite press releases. We allow readers to comment on releases, and we encourage readers to contact the originator of a given release for more information.

Email: [email protected]


Recent Stories

Thanks for reporting an error with the story, "NEBHE to honor former Vermont State Colleges Chancellor Donovan, UVM ..."
  • Hidden
  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.